Where is the equatorial region located

Located in the continent of Africa, Equatorial Guinea covers 28,051 square kilometers of land, making it the 147th largest nation in terms of land area.

Equatorial Guinea became an independent state in 1968, after gaining its sovereignty from Spain. The population of Equatorial Guinea is 685,991 (2012) and the nation has a density of 24 people per square kilometer.

The currency of Equatorial Guinea is the CFA Franc BEAC (XAF). As well, the people of Equatorial Guinea are refered to as Equatorial Guinean/Equatoguinean.

The dialing code for the country is 240 and the top level internet domain for Equatorial Guinean/Equatoguinean sites is .gq.

Equatorial Guinea shares land borders with 2 countries: Cameroon, Gabon.

To learn more, visit our detailed Equatorial Guinea section.

Quick facts

Density24.5 / km2 ( 63.3 / mi2 )
LanguagesSpanish, French, Portuguese
Independence Year1968
CapitalMalabo (Bioko Norte)
CurrencyCFA Franc BEAC
GDP14,308,094,225 (2014 data)
GDP per Capita20,858 (2014 data)
Land Area28,051 km2 (10,831 mi2)
Neighbouring CountriesGabon, Cameroon
Minimum Longitude5.600
Maximum Longitude11.340
Mininum Latitude-1.460
Maximum Latitude3.790

What is the capital of Equatorial Guinea?

Malabo is the capital city of Equatorial Guinea. It has a population of 155,963, and is located on a latitue of 3.75 and longitude of 8.78.

Malabo is also the political center of Equatorial Guinea, which is considered a Republic, and home to its Executive head of state.

Quick Facts About Malabo, the Capital Of Equatorial Guinea

CountryEquatorial Guinea
Elevation40 meters over sea level

Most popular cities in Equatorial Guinea

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on October 2, 2015.